Skip to Content

Dynamic Computing Dehire - One Drive, E-mails and Office 365 Backup FAQ

DC Logo

Dynamic Computing De-hire - Microsoft OneDrive, E-mails and Office 365 Backup FAQ


Why is this important?

When licensing is removed from an Office 365 user account there is some risk of losing potentially important data.

What happens to e-mail data during a user de-hire?

Each licensed user has a mailbox that contains all of their e-mail and related Outlook data.  When licensing is removed from a user, that mailbox is deleted by Microsoft and e-mails would be unrecoverable after 30 days.  However, Microsoft does allow the use of Shared Mailboxes.  Dynamic Computing, unless otherwise instructed, will convert a de-hire mailbox to a shared mailbox for safe keeping and grant access to the mailbox data upon request.  This does not require any additional licensing and preserves the mailbox data indefinitely.

Details on shared mailboxes from Microsoft:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/admin/email/about-shared-mailboxes?view=o365-worldwide

How is OneDrive data different than SharePoint or Teams?

OneDrive data is personal by default and stored in an individual location.

Teams and SharePoint are organized at the organization level and exist outside of any particular user or licensing.

Does the data stored in each users OneDrive need to be saved?

What is OneDrive? 

OneDrive can be confusing.  OneDrive for Work or School/OneDrive for Business  is a cloud based storage solution which Microsoft has bundled with many of their other licensed products.  It includes ample storage space  There is also OneDrive personal which is tied to a personal Microsoft account and intended for consumer use.

Are users saving files to OneDrive?  

Some organizations have adopted OneDrive along with Microsoft Teams and/or SharePoint as a part of their company storage solution.  However, many users have access to OneDrive even when their organization uses other platforms for file storage and may save files to OneDrive for convenience, by mistake, or to help with a specific workflow.  The only way to know is to ask the user or to assign access as an administrator and look over the files.  There are reports available on the size of data that is stored, but they do not include good information on what type of data is stored.

What data is stored in OneDrive?

  • Individual user access:  By default, only the individual user has access to their own OneDrive for Business storage. File and folders of almost any type can be stored in OneDrive.
  • Sharing:  There are many sharing features, but the intended use for OneDrive is for individual storage needs.  It can be thought of as an online/cloud version of My Documents, though OneDrive also allows for sharing files and folders with other users.  
  • Integration: OneDrive also easily integrates with other Microsoft products such as Microsoft Office and other Windows/Microsoft products as a possible save location.  Some users could save files to OneDrive without fully understanding what it is or what they are doing.

How is it licensed? 

OneDrive for Work or School can be licensed individually, but almost always is bundled with another product, essentially  making it a free add-on.  This means, most Office 365 users have access to OneDrive as a save location, even if that is not the preferred solution for file storage used by the rest of the company.  

What happens to OneDrive Data during de-hire?  

When a de-hire occurs, we remove licensing for the user.  This triggers a process from Microsoft that will delete OneDrive data after 30 days.  In many cases there is little or no valuable files stored, especially if the company is not using OneDrive as a designated storage solution or encouraging users to save files there.  Teams files or SharePoint Files will not be impacted.  On request,  we can grant other users access to OneDrive data for the de-hired users for review.  We can also  continue to license OneDrive for the de-hire the lowest possible monthly costs to keep the data from being deleted.

If files are found that need to be kept, please work with Dynamic Computing  to migrate the data and/or update licensing for a longer retention of the files.

Won't a copy of all OneDrive data be available because it is synced on a computer?

OneDrive supports a feature called files on demand which allows files to be saved in the cloud only and synchronized to a users computer only when needed.  This creates the possibility for some or all OneDrive data to not be synchronized or recoverable from any particular computer.  Computers for users that leave the company are also often repurposed/renamed cleaned up/updated etc, and could make finding this data extremely difficult or impossible.

Additional OneDrive Information from Microsoft:

OneDrive for Work or School :

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/what-is-onedrive-for-work-or-school-187f90af-056f-47c0-9656-cc0ddca7fdc2

OneDrive Retention and Deletion Process:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/onedrive/retention-and-deletion

OneDrive Files on Demand:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/save-disk-space-with-onedrive-files-on-demand-for-windows-10-0e6860d3-d9f3-4971-b321-7092438fb38e

OneDrive Licensing Options:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/onedrive/compare-onedrive-plans?activetab=tab:primaryr2

Do our Cloud to Cloud Backups Protect E-mail and OneDrive Data?

The Cloud to Cloud backup solution is an add-on service and can be configured to protect all active users or a select list.  The Cloud to Cloud Backup solution includes protection over user E-Mail and OneDrive data.  It also protects SharePoint and Teams files for the entire organization.  These backups protect against accidental deletion.

Do Cloud to Cloud Backups Ensure De-hire OneDrive and E-mail data are protected?

The software is licensed on a user basis and requires licensing for each user being protected.  Removal of a license will also remove the individual e-mails and OneDrive Data for that user after 30 days.  Our standard process is to keep the licensing for the Cloud to Cloud backups in place for an additional 60 days after de-hire.  

How will this impact Billing/Invoicing?

You should see this charge removed from invoicing on your monthly invoice that occurs after 60 days has passed.  If you need longer retention, please work with Dynamic Computing to customize.  Note that additional licensing charges will apply for extended licensing.

  • Article Status: Director Reviewed